Sunday, November 2, 2014

Munday Named All-Star Community

The City of Munday received the prestigious designation of “All-Star Community” at the 21st Annual Texas Midwest Conference, Oct. 29th, at the Abilene Civic Center. A large delegation of local citizens was in attendance to celebrate the honor.

Judge Travis Floyd, Jennifer Foster, Brenda Floyd, Lina Trevino, Grace Tidwell,
 Rick Ake, Bob Bowen, Jimi Coplen, Lorrie Coop, Rosie Ake, Annette Offut

Mayor John Bob Bowen and City Administrator Rick Ake officially received the award from TMCN President Tammy Thorn of Bronte. According to Thorn “the award was developed to recognize a community in our region that went beyond the level of basic achievement into areas of specific accomplishments that serve as models for other TMCN communities to emulate.”  

Communities eligible to apply for the competitive All-Star Community Award must have been designated a “Community of Achievement” within the past three years.  Munday received this designation in 2013 establishing eligibility to apply for the All-Star award this year. Other requirements included written essays explaining how the community goals had been accomplished, how clean-up and beautification had been addressed and describing a unique program or activity being conducted in the community. 

Through the local efforts of Knox County Visioning Group’s Community Development Director Jimi Coplen, an application for the award was submitted in July and the selection was made by a panel of judges who reside in other areas of the State.  A $2,500 cash award was presented to the community to be used for a local project.  At the annual conference in 2015 a report will be given by Munday representatives explaining how the cash award is being used to the betterment of the community.

TMCN member cities include Abilene, Albany, Anson, Aspermont, Baird, Ballinger, Brady, Breckenridge, Bronte, Brownwood, Buffalo Gap, Cisco, Clyde, Coleman, Colorado City, Comanche, Cross Plains, De Leon, Dublin, Early, Eastland, Eden, Goldthwaite, Gorman, Graham, Hamilton, Hamlin, Haskell, Hico, Jacksboro, Knox City, Menard, Merkel, Miles, Munday, Ranger, Rising Star, Robert Lee, Roscoe, Rotan, San Angelo, San Saba, Santa Anna, Seymour, Snyder, Stamford, Strawn, Sweetwater, Throckmorton, Tye, and Winters.

The mission of Texas Midwest Community Network is to promote a regional approach to provide the resources and awareness for its members to achieve economic and community growth.  The organization provides a means by which communities can work together to accomplish what one community cannot do alone.

For more information about Texas Midwest Community Network visit